• The Negative Side Effects of Anti Depressant Medications by Sonya Vatomsky

The Negative Side Effects of Anti Depressant Medications by Sonya Vatomsky

I took physician-prescribed anti-depressant medications (about two or three types at different dosages) and about two anti-anxiety medications off and on over a period of about 17 to 18 years. None of the medications helped me.

There have been many articles and studies published (that I can remember) in the last 15 years disputing if anti-depressants are effective for most.

Here’s an article about the negative side effects some people experience when taking anti-depressants or anti-anxiety medications:

When Medication Side Effects Make You Rethink What It Means to Have a ‘Good Life’

Snippets:

by Sonya Vatomsky

Even if you aren’t aware of it, the chances are good that someone you know is taking some sort of psychiatric medicine.

According to the most recent research, an estimated one in six adults in the U.S. have a prescription for antidepressants, anti-anxiety pills, or some other drug to help them manage their mental health.

And with those drugs, for many of those people, come the side effects — some of which can feel dire enough to become a problem in and of themselves, requiring a second treatment to offset the first.

Many commonly prescribed antidepressants, in particular, can come with a host of side effects that can paradoxically contribute to depression. “Antidepressants saved my life and killed my orgasms,” writer Sofia Barrett-Ibarria recently declared in Self magazine; problems with sex are common, as are struggles with weight.

Auxiliary medications are often prescribed to mitigate the severe side effects of primary medications, but can come with their own, like tinnitus and digestion issues.

…As with the medications themselves, though, figuring out what to do about side effects isn’t a one-size-fits-all system.


See Also:

Non-Church, Non-Spiritual, or Secular Remedies and Treatments Don’t Always Work

1 in 3 Protestant Churchgoers Personally Affected by Suicide

For Most, Jesus and the Gospels Are Not the Answer for Depression, Suicide, and Other Mental Health Maladies (Part 1)

For Most, Jesus and the Gospels Are Not the Answer for Depression, Suicide, and Other Mental Health Maladies (Part 2)

Problems with A.A. (Alcoholics Anonymous)

Why Does Being a Woman Put You at Greater Risk of Having Anxiety? by Cari Romm

Topics and Concerns Under-Reported by Christians or Abuse and Survivor Sites

4 thoughts on “• The Negative Side Effects of Anti Depressant Medications by Sonya Vatomsky

  1. I have fibromyalgia. They put me on Lexapro about 10 years ago, then Effexor, to treat the fibromyalgia. It’s a pretty common treatment for it. Lexapro made me narcoleptic, which was particularly bad since I was in seminary at the time. I would fall asleep in class. The up-side was that it worked on my pain like a charm. Effexor didn’t have a lot of side effects while on it, but it didn’t really help the fibromyalgia, either. However, when I tried to wean off it (under a doctor’s guidance), that’s when all the crazy side effects started. The worst were electric jolts where I felt like I was zapped by a taser. Twice that made me faint, once while I was at work as a teacher. It also kept me up nonstop (the opposite of the Lexapro). This lasted for over six months, even going down a sliver at a time.

    Certainly anti-depressants are necessary and needed by people with chemical deficiencies, but they definitely do come at a price. My brother has had a decent experience with Welbutrin, but I’m sure that can cause plenty of side effects for many people. I hope there are better solutions out there, though I don’t know what they might be.

    As for the fibromyalgia, it’s been considerably better since I became a plant-based vegetarian. It was pretty bad on a paleo diet, the opposite of what everybody promises on that. Paleo might be good for other problems, though. I think nothing is probably one-size-fits-all, unfortunately.

    • What chemical deficiencies? Last time I checked, Effexor and other drugs don’t naturally occur in the brain. Dr. Ronald Pies and numerous other professionals at the American Psychiatric Association are claiming that there are no chemical deficiencies.

      Commercials on television say things like, “Depression IS BELIEVED to be caused by a chemical imbalance of serotonin in the brain.” Legally that is true, so they’re covered in cause of a law suit. People do indeed believe that. The APA isn’t screaming the truth about chemical imbalances from the roof, since they have nothing else to offer. Except our old friend Electroshock.

      You could wind up like me. Started out with depression and anxiety. Had a bad reaction to Anafranil, couldn’t sleep for 21 days while my doctor lied through his teeth, claiming that never happened.

      Now I have fewer rights and endure more lawful discrimination than a convicted felon. I have done nothing wrong and broken no laws. But people regard me as a violent criminal waiting to murder others because I have bad genes (evolutionary throwback to caveman ancestors).

      All stems back to theories of eugenics and Darwin’s monkey man. No one in the church reads much of anything now, so they ignorantly buy into the idea that evil is all due to bad genes.

      Afraid to go to church because they always treat me like a cockroach. Yes, those benevolent “pro-psychiatry” churches are more bigoted and full of hate than the others, I fear.

      No hope in this life, period. Not depression, but knowledge that I am screwed. Period. Thankfully my heart and other vital organs are so damaged from 25 years of massive druggings that I won’t see my 60th birthday. No self murder necessary. Thank You Jesus!

      If you want to read some other horror stories, Daisy, feel free to log into Mad In America. You’re not the only one let down by psychiatry. Glad you got off so easy! Seriously. At least you aren’t a “Bipolar” or “Schizo” leper. I have known people to flee the country because of these labels and the cruel discrimination others heaped on them, using the diagnoses for an excuse.

      • I didn’t take antidepressants for brain chemical balance, but muscle chemical balance, so there are some different things at play there. And Lexapro at least worked for that. It just had side effects that were too great to make it useful. I’d rather be in pain than too incapacitated to do anything.

        One thing I’ve learned in many years dealing with chronic illness is that experts are often wrong. Experts told me for 20 years that taking out my thyroid “cured” my immune disease. A few years ago, the experts changed their minds and said “Oh, no it doesn’t”. So I trust what works and what doesn’t by practically trying it, not by what associations, doctors, or commercials say.

  2. Rachel, you have described what scares me the most about doctors. They don’t want to believe people about side effects for fear of lawsuits. I am very sorry about how you have been treated. It’s not right.

Leave a Reply

